How The Heck Do I Translate With Matrices?

Help! Help! Help! Math 911!

“I’ve got 3 points: A (–4, 1), B (– 2, 5) and C (0, 2)
I’m supposed to translate each point 5 units right and 3 units down. What does that mean?”

“Glad you asked. It’s easy-peasy. You just add 5 to each x and subtract 3 from each y.
Solution: A’ = (1, -2) B’= (3, 2) C’ = (5, -1)

“Hold on a minute!” you scream! “I have to use Matrices! I don’t know where to start!”

“Oh, darn! In that case I’ll have to make you a video so I can draw matrices for you by hand. I don’t think you have the font that uses matrices. Shoot me an email and I’ll send it to you pronto! It’s really super simple once you see it.”

Leave a Reply

