I Can’t Do This Algebra Problem! Help!

“Come on!  You really want me to graph all those inequalities in that list when I can’t even graph a “regular” equation?”, gasps  the student.  Say it’s not so!!!

Teacher says, “It’s true alright.  It’s called a ‘system of inequalities’ and not only do I want you to graph them, I want you to graph them on the same graph!’

“On top of each other?” says the now panicking student.

“Yes.  Then I want you to look at the area you have shaded (you did shade didn’t you?).  Then find each vertex of the enclosed region.”

y>-1/2x+1

y<-3x+5

y<2x+2

Problems are taken from Advanced Math Concepts by Glencoe.

Solution:     The three vertices are:  (.6,  3.2)        (-.4,  1.2)       (1.6,   .2)

If you just ‘don’t get it’ and need a quick video demo, just email me and let me know. No charge.

Leave a Reply

